·         Who we are
·         What we do
·         Vision and Mission
·         Brief History


A non-profit organization working towards the transformation of the villages since 1976 in Visakhapatnam district, Andhra Pradesh. Through its participatory approach and integrated rural development programs, BCT nurtures change agents within villages and created paradigm for replication both nationally as well as internationally.


With the focal agenda of transformation of villagers into leaders for village development, BCT works in the diverse areas touching every cross-section of the village.

As villagers are facilitated towards identify issues and problems confronting their lives, the programs at BCT are designed to address issues emerging from the villages.

The programs are currently in the realm of

Education (Primary and Secondary sectors)
Rehabilitation of the Challenged (Community based as well as Center based)
Health Care (Preventive and Adolescent)
Agriculture Research
Wastedland development
Skill Development (Short and Long term)
Livelihoods Promotion
Rejuvenation of Folk Arts


To transform the villages of Visakhapatnam district into models of learning in a manner that all people, physically challenged and able-bodied are gainfully employed. Also to cause substantive improvements in the state of literacy, health and economic sustenance. Finally to harness not just natural resources but also human resources through leadership and motivation.


To promote continuous self-improvement in the quality of lives of the villagers by generating their own leadership in solving their problems and by creating opportunities at their doorsteps for utilizing their resources most efficiently.


Approach: Participatory

Attention: Villagers and Urban youth

Role: Motivation and facilitation

Motto: Intrinsic capacity of every person, abled or challenged, to help themselves.

Brief History

Dr. BV Parameswara Rao nurtured the dream of becoming a school teacher in his village since he was a child. So after getting his Ph.D. in Nuclear sciences at the prestigious Penn State University, USA, he returned to his village Dimili in Andhra Pradesh, in 1967, to contribute to its development. On realizing that the village lacked a school, he brought in community participation and established the High School within 10 months, which still stands today, its spacious premises providing education to many children across 10 villages. This marked the beginning of many more projects like employment generation through salt pans near the sea coast, farmers’ cooperative etc., which in turn led to the formation of Bhagavatula Charitable Trust. Founded in 1976, November 11, the NGO in Visakhapatnam district of Andhra Pradesh, took up programmes for men, women, and children to enable them to prosper, lead better lives with self-sustaining livelihoods. The pioneering efforts of Dr. Parameswara Rao have won him and the organization recognition across the world. His services were also sought by the World Bank and for various programmes by the Government of India including the National Literacy Mission, All India Khadi and Village Industries Board, National Institute of Rural Development, National Waste Land Development Board etc. Many prominent personalities that include governors of states, World bank teams, and distinguished intellectuals have visited this remote part of rural Visakhapatnam because of his work. Under his able guidance, BCT has undertaken over 1000 projects in the Visakhapatnam district. From adult literacy to model education methods, from training women on livelihoods to providing programmes that offer rehabilitation to the physically challenged, programmes of BCT have been varied in their approach and reach. Over time, the lacunae that these villages face has changed too, and BCT has adapted with newer leadership and programmes to address those challenges. The focus on improving the quality of life for the villages of Andhra Pradesh has, however, always been the constant, for BCT strongly believes that the country’s prosperity lies in the well-being of its villages.